United Nations Academic Impact (UNAI)

AFBE has been accepted as a member of the United Nations Academic Impact (UNAI).

This is a global initiative that aligns institutions of higher education with the United Nations in furthering the realization of the purposes and mandate of the Organization through activities and research in a shared culture of intellectual social responsibility.

The UNAI has the following 10 principles:

  1. A commitment to the principles inherent in the United Nations Charter as values that education seeks to promote and help fulfil;
  2. A commitment to human rights, among them freedom of inquiry, opinion, and speech;
    A commitment to educational opportunity for all people regardless of gender, race, religion or ethnicity;
  3. A commitment to the opportunity for every interested individual to acquire the skills and knowledge necessary for the pursuit of higher education;
  4. A commitment to building capacity in higher education systems across the world;
  5. A commitment to encouraging global citizenship through education;
  6. A commitment to advancing peace and conflict resolution through education;
  7. A commitment to addressing issues of poverty through education;
  8. A commitment to promoting sustainability through education;
  9. A commitment to promoting inter-cultural dialogue and understanding, and the “unlearning” of intolerance, through education.

Please note: all other members of UNAI in the Australian-registered body are Australian Universities as follows:

  • Bond University
  • Charles Sturt University
  • Edith Cowan University
  • Griffith University
  • James Cook University
  • La Trobe University
  • Macquarie University
  • Monash University  *
  • Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology University (RMIT)
  • Southern Cross University
  • The University of Adelaide  *
  • The University of Melbourne  *
  • University of Ballarat
  • University of Canberra
  • University of New South Wales  *
  • University of South Australia
  • University of Tasmania
  • University of the Sunshine Coast
  • University of Western Sydney